RSS

Changing the Theme

21 Feb

One mistake I made since the last blog was that I had said I was using the Twenty Ten theme, I was wrong… in the process of changing it I realised I was actually using the Twenty Eleven theme, there really wasn’t any obvious evidence of it (except for the footer). Well I’ll live with it.

I have developed a few other changes and began by changing my home page – which I think was my front page, I changed the picture which was just a matter of going into the appearance and changing the header picture, I just stuck my logo onto the picture in photoshop, saved it as a jpeg and loaded it as an image. Then I went into the text and changed it into stuff about me.

The next step was putting my folio in a tab – this involved not just changing the existing tab but deleting it and creating a new one, simple to do thanks to the fail proof guides and self explanatory links to click on, and nothing went wrong, here’s the screen shot:

I left the thumbnails in the middle of the page because it works for me and I also had a couple of choices about where to let the images open, I chose the new page option and am happy with that choice at the moment although if I want to change it, as I may when I have larger issues sorted it seems simple enough.

Next I added a swf file I had made showing photos of my packaging projects – this was important to me as I need to be able to display swf files, I had a few problems with it opening without getting a 404, after uploading and deleting it a few times it finally worked, I’m not sure if it was the file, the size or maybe a problem with our internet at the time as it jumps in and out occasionally.

I do realise I could of inserted it as a gallery/slideshow thing from WordPress but I did want to be able to construct the swf first then place it, I’m glad I persevered.

Next I want to add a contact me page, also some way to display all my awards and certificates etc which I would like to do in a different style but haven’t thought of yet. For the moment I’m having a couple of days off because my mum is visiting.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Changing the Theme

  1. RobynRand

    February 21, 2012 at 9:25 am

    don’t forget to see the real thing at robynranddesign.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
