RSS

Discovering WordPress.org

07 Feb

The first thing I did, (which may seem basic but it took a bit to figure out that I had to do this) was to go to wordpress.org . That’s where I read that, even though I was doing it through WordPress I had to find myself a web host (honestly thought they did this for me). They make it easy & actually give a link that takes you to some of the “best & brightest” well the first one I clicked on had a few bad reviews but luckily they also give a link to those – no excuses for not doing research really.

Then I got impatient & decided there was really no need to get myself a host before I have a bit more idea of what I’m doing. So I downloaded the software – yep, the irresistible big blue button that invites us to download.

Reading a few different bits & pieces from others I found that I will be working with the self hosted version of WordPress which is what I am downloading (in just 5 minutes!) It has a CMS which I will be able to fully customise, which can not be done with WordPress.com (although I noticed it is now only $17 + $8 + whatever else they lump you with, for a year).

I am now getting a bit more excited about it all as I have found out that using the CMS I can include practically anything in my website. That’s right, things like e-commerce, forms, portfolio display, discussion forum, even a social forum. I can also interact directly with social media just with a plug-in. I was hoping to learn the e-commerce bit when I did the web design course but it was said to be to difficult at the time so I have been a bit let down by that for a while.

Also true to WordPress style there are more themes than I can poke a stick at available at the click of a mouse, very similar to WordPress.com by the sounds of it. I hope to eventually design my own theme so I’m not too concerned about that at the moment.

I do know there is more research to be done before I part with my pennies for a host that I approve of, I wonder if I can find an Australian? Not that it matters but I like to shop locally 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
